Saturday, June 23, 2012

Pruitt Elected Midwest Chairman in National Association of Attorneys General

Pruitt joins NAAG Executive Committee

ANCHORAGE – Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt was elected chairman of the Midwestern Region of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) by his colleagues during the association’s meeting this week in Anchorage, Alaska. He also will serve on the NAAG Executive Committee.

“I am honored to play a leading role among the nation’s attorneys general to target some of the critical issues we face,” Pruitt said. “As the new chairman, I very much look forward to working with my fellow attorneys general to tackle concerns important to Oklahomans and the nation.”

Pruitt will work with other AGs through bipartisan efforts to confront serious issues facing the nation as well as continue multiple initiatives for the Midwestern Region. The region consists of 11 states, including Oklahoma, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Kansas, Michigan and Nebraska. Among the initiatives is a plan to enhance an attorneys general law training program with Northwestern University Law School, which will serve as a model for training programs that eventually will link to Oklahoma law schools.

Attorneys general and key staff members met this week during NAAG’s summer meeting to discuss state legal issues. During the meeting, association members elected officers, who will serve as the association’s executive committee.

The executive committee is charged with the management of association operations and yearly approval of a program plan of goals, objectives and activities to guide its work. The executive committee comprises the four NAAG officers, four regional delegates and three presidential appointees and the chair of the NAAG Mission Foundation, which supports the work of the association. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...