Monday, January 14, 2013

Members of Oklahoma Commission on School Security Announced

Oklahoma City—Lt. Governor Todd Lamb, Senate President Pro Tempore Brian Bingman, House Speaker T.W. Shannon, Senate Democratic Leader Sean Burrage and House Democratic Leader Scott Inman announced last week the members of the Oklahoma Commission on School Security.
Lt. Governor Lamb, a former United States Secret Service Agent, will serve as chair of the commission and looks forward to the work set to be accomplished.   
“Partnering with legislative leaders to create the Oklahoma Commission on School Security was a much-needed, proactive decision,” said Lt. Governor Lamb.  “Our children deserve safe and secure learning environments and this commission is committed to doing just that.  Each commission member brings experience from their respective field that will generate ideas and solutions to enhance school security.”
Members of the Oklahoma Commission on School Security include local school personnel, law enforcement, parents and health care professionals, and are as follows:
  1. Roger Webb – Headmaster, Oklahoma Christian School/former President, University of Central Oklahoma/former Commissioner, Department of Public Safety
  2. Maj. Gen. Lee Baxter (retired) –State Board of Education Member
  3. Dr. Ryan Brown – Associate Professor of Psychology, University of Oklahoma
  4. Lyn Watson – Oklahoma City School Board, District 1
  5. Randy Holley – Superintendent, Shattuck Public Schools
  6. Dr. Gary Quinn – Superintendent, Bartlesville Public Schools
  7. Kevin Burr – Superintendent, Sapulpa Public Schools
  8. Mike McClaren – Superintendent, Claremore Public Schools
  9. Dr. Trice Butler – Principal, Wilburton Middle School
  10. Dr. Sharon Brady – Assistant Director of Special Education, Lawton Public Schools
  11. Tammy Will – Teacher, Morrison Public Schools
  12. Dr. Eleanor Goetzinger – Behavior Specialist, Oklahoma City Public Schools
  13. Jerry McConnell – Director of Facility Operations, Moore Norman Technology Center
  14. David Prater – Oklahoma County District Attorney
  15. Kim Carter – Director, Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security
  16. Brandon Clabes – Midwest City, Chief of Police
  17. Captain Tim Dorsey – Captain, Edmond Police Department
  18. Darry Stacy – Cleveland County Commissioner, District 2
  19. Gary Rudick – Chief of Police, Tulsa Public Schools Campus Police
  20. Major James Blocker – Director of EMS, Oklahoma City Fire Department
  21. Gary Armbruster – Principal Architect, MA+ Architecture
  22. Phil Armstrong – Assistant Pastor, Metropolitan Baptist Church, Tulsa
“There is nothing more important than doing everything in our power to keep Oklahoma's kids safe,” said Senate President Pro Tempore Brian Bingman.  “I am tremendously thankful for these subject matter experts—they are generously giving of their time to help us build safer schools and address the fundamental problems that could potentially put our kids in harm’s way.  I appreciate their service.”
"Our children are our highest priority," said House Speaker T.W. Shannon.  "I applaud these men and women for volunteering their time and expertise to help safeguard the future of Oklahoma. My hope is they will strike the right balance between public safety and personal liberty."
 “We must have a serious, fact-driven discussion about the safety of our schools,” said Senate Democratic Leader Sean Burrage.  “The formation of the non-partisan Oklahoma Commission on School Safety is an important first step.  I applaud those who have stepped up to serve our state in this capacity, and I look forward to the findings of the commission.”
"As a parent, I never want to second-guess the safety of my children while they are at school," said House Democratic Leader Scott Inman.  "The Oklahoma Commission on School Security's work will be timely and necessary if we want to proactively create learning environments where our children feel safe, secure, and fearless throughout their education.  I look forward to the commission's findings and know these experts will provide us with a meaningful road map to ensuring our schools are secure."
Commission members will hold various meetings, the first set to convene at the Oklahoma State Capitol, Room 419-C, on January 22 at 1:30 p.m.  Meeting agendas will include speaker testimony and discussion on the various factors related to school security including but not limited to public safety, mental health, training, engineering and local control.  The commission plans on providing suggestions and legislative recommendations regarding school security for the 2013 legislative session.
Oklahomans across the state are encouraged to submit their ideas for study in the commission by calling the Lt. Governor’s office at 405-521-2161.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...