Friday, January 9, 2015

Speaker Announces Additional House Leadership Appointments

OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma House Speaker Jeff Hickman announced additional leadership positions today, naming assistant majority leaders and assistant majority whips.

“We are fortunate to have a talented, diverse and hard-working body of men and women in the House of Representatives,” said Hickman, R-Fairview. “We have been very diligent in selecting members to serve in leadership roles to work with all members of the House to help ensure a successful legislative session for our state.”

The assistant majority leaders will work closely with Majority Leader Charles Ortega, who will be responsible for assigning bills to committees and determining the list of bills approved by committees, which will be available for consideration by the full House. They will also work with Floor Leaders Jason Nelson (R-Oklahoma City) and Lisa Billy (R-Lindsay) to develop the schedule for hearing bills on the House floor and directing floor activity during daily legislative sessions.

“I am excited to get to work with this team of lawmakers as we direct the activity of the House floor,” said Ortega, R-Altus. “These legislative leaders are deliberative and fair, and they take their duties very seriously, as our constituents expect us to. Working with our members, I am confident the people’s business will be conducted in an efficient and orderly manner.”

The assistant majority whips will work with Majority Whip Gary Banz, who will be responsible for assisting the floor leaders and for ensuring that votes are in place and members are in attendance. The whips also serve as a communication system for the members.

“Moving our legislative agenda through the House and keeping a large caucus focused is a process based on relationships, trust and experience,” said Banz, R-Midwest City. “These assistant majority whips are highly respected men and women in the House of Representatives, and I believe they are a good team to help the House be successful.”

Assistant Majority Leaders:

Scott Biggs, R-Chickasha
Doug Cox, R- Grove
Tommy Hardin, R-Madill
Glen Mulready, R-Tulsa

Assistant Majority Whips:

Marian Cooksey, R-Edmond
Jon Echols, R-Oklahoma City
Randy Grau, R-Edmond
James Leewright, R-Bristow
Mark Lepak, R-Claremore
Jadine Nollan, R-Sand Springs
Pat Ownbey, R-Ardmore
Weldon Watson, R-Tulsa
Justin Wood, R-Shawnee

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...