Thursday, April 12, 2012

Reward Schools Recognized by State Board, Legislators

The State Board of Education and State Legislators recognized 127 Reward Schools from throughout Oklahoma in a special Board meeting and in a ceremony at the State Capitol on Monday, April 9, 2012.
Reward Schools are those in the top 10 percent of performance in all assessments from three years worth of data ending in 2010-11, or those in the top 10 percent of schools that have made high progress in reading and math. The designation was granted as a result of Oklahoma’s flexibility request from the Elementary and Secondary Education Act under No Child Left Behind from the U.S. Department of Education.
“We are proud of the work the students and the educators at these schools have done to merit the distinction of being Reward Schools,” State Superintendent of Instruction Janet Barresi said. “The students have proven they are on track to being college, career and citizen ready by the time they graduate. This will not only serve them well in their future but bodes well for the future work force and leadership of our state as well.”
In addition to recognition, reward schools may be provided more autonomy regarding state and federal funds, as well as be exempt from annual monitoring of certain accreditation requirements and certain site plans. Reward schools also may be provided financial rewards as funding is available.
In addition, Reward Schools will be offered grant opportunities for those willing to partner with Priority Schools, Focus Schools, or schools earning grades of C, D, or F in the State’s A-F School Grading System, as funding is available. Representatives from reward schools also will be invited to participate in various advisory groups and councils and will be invited to provide training sessions at statewide conferences and regional workshops.
Oklahoma’s High-Performing Reward Schools by district or category are:
 Bartlesville: Bartlesville Mid-High School, Central Middle School, Hoover Elementary School, and Wayside Elementary School; Bethany: Bethany High School, Bethany Middle School, and Earl Harris Elementary School; Blanchard: Blanchard High School; Chatanooga: Chattanooga High School; Chisholm: Chisholm High School, and Chisholm Middle School; Deer Creek: Deer Creek Elementary School, Deer Creek High School, Deer Creek Middle School, Prairie Vale Elementary School, and Rose Union Elementary School; Duncan: Plato Elementary School; Edmond: Angie Debo Elementary School, Centennial Elementary School, Cheyenne Middle School, Chisholm Elementary School, Cimarron Middle School, Clegern Elementary School, Cross Timbers Elementary School, John Ross Elementary School, Memorial High School, North High School, Northern Hills Elementary School, Russell Dougherty Elementary School, Santa Fe High School, Sequoyah Middle School, Washington Irving Elementary School, and West Field Elementary School; Enterprise Schools: Belle Isle Middle School, Oklahoma City; Fairview: Fairview High School; Fort Gibson: Fort Gibson Intermediate Elementary School, and Fort Gibson Middle School; Jenks: Jenks West Intermediate Elementary School, and Southeast Elementary School; Kingfisher: Kingfisher High School; Lone Grove: Lone Grove High School; McCord: McCord Public School; Miami: Rockdale Elementary School; Midwest City-Del City: Carl Albert High School, and Schwartz Elementary School; Minco: Minco High School; Moore: Briarwood Elementary School, Brink Junior High School, Earlywine Elementary School, Eastlake Elementary School, Fisher Elementary School, Moore High School, Northmoor Elementary School, Wayland Bonds Elementary School, and Westmoore High School; Mountain View-Gotebo: Mountain View-Gotebo Elementary School; Mulhall-Orlando: Mulhall-Orlando Elementary School; Navajo: Navajo Junior High School; Norman: Alcott Middle School, Cleveland Elementary School, McKinley Elementary School, Norman High School, Norman North High School, Roosevelt Elementary School, Washington Elementary School, and Whittier Middle School; Oklahoma City: Nichols Hills Elementary School, Quail Creek Elementary School, and Wilson Elementary School; Owasso: Ator Elementary School, Hayward Smith Elementary School, and Larkin Bailey Elementary School; Piedmont: Piedmont High School; Plainview: Plainview High School, Plainview Intermediate Elementary School, and Plainview Middle School; Pryor: Lincoln Elementary School; Ripley: Ripley High School; Rocky Mountain: Rocky Mountain Public School; Sangre Stillwater: Ridge Elementary School, Stillwater High School, and Stillwater Junior High School; Tulsa: Carnegie Elementary School, Carver Middle School; Union: Darnaby Elementary School; Weatherford: Weatherford Middle School; Yukon: Parkland Elementary School, and Yukon High School.
Admission based on selected criteria: Classen High School of Advanced Studies, Oklahoma City; Classen Middle School of Advanced Studies, Oklahoma City; Booker T. Washington High School, Tulsa.
Charter Schools: Harding Charter Preparatory High School, Oklahoma City; Tulsa, and Tulsa School of Arts & Sciences, Tulsa.
Enterprise Schools: Belle Isle Middle School, Oklahoma City.
Special focus schools: Eisenhower International Elementary School, Tulsa: Henry Zarrow International School, Tulsa.
High Progress Reward Schools by district are:
Ardmore: Jefferson Elementary School; Atoka: Atoka High School; Clinton: Southwest Elementary School; Cushing: Harrison Elementary School; Depew: Depew Elementary School; Enid: Hoover Elementary School; Fort Supply: Fort Supply Elementary School; Foyil: Foyil Junior High School; Friend: Friend Public School; Grandview: Grandview Public School; Clara Harrah: Reynolds Elementary School, and Harrah Junior High School; Hulbert: Hulbert Elementary School; Lawton: Lawton High School; LeFlore: LeFlore Elementary School; Liberty: Liberty Public School; Marietta: Marietta Middle School; Nashoba: Nashoba Public School; Edgemere: Edgemere Elementary School, Oklahoma City: Edwards Elementary School, and Rancho Village Elementary School; Panama: Panama Lower Elementary School; Peckham: Peckham Public School; Quinton: Quinton Elementary School; Rattan: Rattan Junior High School; Ringling: Ringling Junior High School; Spavinaw: Spavinaw Public School; Stonewall: Stonewall Elementary School; Sweetwater: Sweetwater Elementary School; Swink: Swink Public School; Tulsa: Memorial High School, Tulsa Met-Franklin.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...