Friday, June 24, 2011

Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb Declares State of Emergency Due to Wildfires

Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb

At the request of Governor Mary Fallin, Lieutenant Governor Todd Lamb today declared a State of Emergency for 33 Oklahoma counties due to extreme or exceptional drought conditions and the associated wildfires, which threaten the lives and property of the people in this area. 

Counties included in the State of Emergency are: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Jefferson, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Love, Major, Roger Mills, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods and Woodward. 

This declaration may be amended to include additional counties as conditions warrant.

“These counties have struggled to see relief from our current drought, and with Oklahoma’s high winds, conditions have unfortunately been ideal for devastating wildfires,” said Lt. Governor Lamb.  “Our thoughts and prayers are with the families going through this difficult time.  Declaring this emergency will provide aid to these struggling Oklahomans as they prepare to rebuild and restore what was lost.”

Already more than 10 fires have been reported throughout the state causing evacuations in some areas. Continuing drought conditions will likely cause additional fires in the following weeks.

This Executive Order marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

Note: The Oklahoma Constitution provides that when the governor is out of the state the lt. governor is acting governor. 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...